News Feeds

Weather at Rio

Brian Kelly Award

This prestigious annual award was established in 1996 by the British Carbon Group in memory of Brian Kelly, a leading authority on the physics of graphite to reward excellence in carbon science and technology.

The award is intended as a travel grant for students and early career researchers with up to ten years postdoctoral experience to attend the annual World Carbon Conference. Anyone living or working, at the time of that conference, in the country where the conference is held is not eligible. As a consequence, applications will not be accepted from the Brazil on this occasion.

The award is made upon the basis of an appraisal of THREE documents: (1) the extended abstract or paper as submitted to the C2013 conference (only one paper is permitted for the purposes of the award), (2) a short CV (with the date of the award of PhD if applicable) and (3) a commentary provided normally by the candidate’s supervisor or close colleague. Self-nomination is not permitted. The Award Committee of the British Carbon Group will determine the successful applicant.

The closing date for applications for C2013 will strictly be 4pm BST 19th April 2013. No submissions after this date will be accepted.

Previous applicants are welcome to re-apply.

The award is currently seven hundred and fifty pounds sterling (£750) and is presented at the time of the conference with a certificate. It is a condition of the award that the winner attends the conference and presents his or her paper either orally or as a poster.

Applications may be transferred electronically to the Chairman of The British Carbon Group, Dr Gareth Neighbour, at or, exceptionally, mailed to him at the following address:

Dr Gareth Neighbour,
Chairman, The British Carbon Group,
Head of Department of Mechanical Engineering and Mathematical Sciences,
Oxford Brookes University,
Wheatley Campus,
Oxford OX33 1HX,
United Kingdom.

The British Carbon Group (registered charity 207890) is affiliated to The Royal Society of Chemistry, The Institute of Physics and The Society of Chemical Industry.

Previous Winners:

1996: Y. Kawabuchi, Kyushu University, Japan.
1997: J. Barbosa-Mota, Inst. Biologia Experimental e Tecnologica, Portugal.
1998: B. Fathollahi, University of California, San Diego, USA.
1999: No award.
2000: J. Klett, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, Tennessee, USA and J. Andresen, Penn State University, USA (two awards).
2001: Z.-X. Ma, Tohoku University, Japan.
2002: J. Y. Howe, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, Tennessee, USA and M. Guellali, University of Karlsruhe, Germany (two awards)
2003: No award.
2004: Q. H. Yang, Tohoku University, Sendai, Japan.
2005: No award.
2006 An-hui Lu, Max-Planck-Institut für Kohlenforschung, Germany and E. Flahaut Université Paul Sabatier, Toulouse, France (two awards).
2007 P. Adelhelm, Max-Planck-Institute of Colloids and Interfaces, Germany.
2008 D. Hulicova-Jurcakova, ARC Centre of Excellence for Functional Nanomaterials, University of Queensland, Austrialia.
2009 G. Haffenden, Department of Chemistry, University of Sussex, Brighton, United Kingdom
2010 J.-P. Tessonnier, Fritz-Haber-Institut der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft, Berlin, Germany.
2011 Monica J. Hanus, School of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, University of Sydney, Australia.
2012 Fei Guo, Chemical Engineering, Brown University, USA