News Feeds

Weather at Rio

SGL Carbon Award (Skakel Award)

The purpose of the Award is to recognize “the overall contributions and accomplishments of an individual, which have significantly influenced the progress of science and/or technology of carbon materials”.

The Award is granted with 5000,- $ US.

The Award is sponsored by the SGL Group and is administrated as well as presented by the American Carbon Society.

Nomination forms are available at the website of the American Carbon Society.

Nominations should be submitted to Dr. Semih Eser, E-mail:

Deadline for submission is February 25, 2013.

Previous winners:
1969 S. Mrozowski
1971 P. L. Walker, Jr.
1973 A. Pacault
1975 A. R. Ubbelohde
1977 E. Fitzer
1979 T. Noda
1981 J. B. Donnet
1983 W. P. Eatherly
1985 H. Marsh
1987 J. L. White
1991 R. J. Diefendorf
1993 W. Ruland
1995 G. H. Taylor
1997 M. S. Dresselhaus
1999 R. T. Yang
2001 B. McEnaney
2004 M. Inagaki
2007 L. R. Radovic
2009 F. Rodriguez-Reinoso